Part 6 - Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Fees

Interpretation

1. (1) The definitions in this subsection apply in this Part.

"Act" means the Canada Agricultural Products Act. (Loi)

"Regulations" means the Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Regulations. (règlement)

(2) Unless otherwise provided in this Part, other words and expressions have the same meaning as in the Act and the Regulations.

Payment

2. (1) Subject to subsection (2), the fees set out in the table to this Part shall be paid

(a) in the case of fees set out in any of items 2 to 8, 10 and 12 of that table, on the issuance of the release permit, certificate or evidence of inspection, or on the completion of the grading, monitoring or assistance, as the case may be; and

(b) in the case of fees set out in any of items 1, 9 and 11 of that table, at the time the request for an exemption, a registration, a renewal of registration or a licence is submitted, as the case may be.

(2) If a person has a charge account with the Agency, the fees set out in that table, other than those set out in item 7 or 11, are payable on receipt of an invoice from the Agency.

3. Despite section 2, if required by an inspector, the fees set out in items 2 to 8 and item 12 of the table to this Part shall be paid before the service is provided or the right or privilege is conferred, if the applicant

(a) has previously failed to pay a fee set out in this Notice or in the Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Fees Order; or

(b) does not have a fixed place of residence in Canada.

Table

ItemColumn 1
Service, Right, Product, Privilege or Use
Column 2
Fee
ministerial exemptions

1.

For an exemption conferred under section 2.2 of the Regulations $20 per load
release permit

2.

For the issuance of a release permit referred to in paragraph 29(2)(c) of the Regulations (amended : Canada Gazette, Part I, May 22, 2010) $15
inspection, grading and monitoring

3.

Subject to item 4, for the inspection of produce under Part III of the Regulations, other than destination inspections as referred to in item 3.1 (amended : Canada Gazette, Part I, April 21, 2012)  
  (a) if the inspection is performed at the point of shipping 64¢ per 100 kg of produce inspected, subject to a minimum fee of $68
  (b) if the inspection is performed at a place other than the point of shipping $1.37 per 100 kg of produce inspected, subject to a minimum fee of $68
destination inspection

3.1

Where inspection at destination is requested by the applicant and the Licensing and Arbitration Regulations do not apply, (amended : Canada Gazette, Part I, March 15, 2014)  
  (a) for the inspection of domestic fresh produce or fresh produce entering Canada from a foreign jurisdiction (amended : Canada Gazette, Part I, March 15, 2014) $171.00 per hour, assessed at $42.75 per 15 minutes, subject to a 1 hour minimum charge (amended : Canada Gazette, Part I, March 15, 2014)
  (b) for the witnessing of the destruction or disposal of fresh produce and the issuance of a Notice of Dumping or other Disposition (amended : Canada Gazette, Part I, March 15, 2014) $171.00 per hour, assessed at $42.75 per 15 minutes, subject to a 1 hour minimum charge (amended : Canada Gazette, Part I, March 15, 2014)
  (c) call-out per inspection in (a) or (b) (repealed: Canada Gazette, Part I, March 15, 2014) $0.00 (repealed: Canada Gazette, Part I, March 15, 2014)
  (d) for the cancellation of inspection services requested after an inspector has been dispatched (amended : Canada Gazette, Part I, April 21, 2012) $70.00 (amended : Canada Gazette, Part I, April 21, 2012)
4. For the inspection of onions or potatoes in accordance with section 40 of the Regulations 64¢ per 100 kg of produce inspected, subject to a minimum fee of $30
5. For an inspection requested pursuant to subsection 40(2) of the Regulations  
  (a) if the inspection is performed at the point of shipping 64¢ per 100 kg of produce inspected, subject to a minimum fee of $68
  (b) if the inspection is performed at a place other than the point of shipping $1.37 per 100 kg of produce inspected, subject to a minimum fee of $68
6. For an appeal inspection granted under subsection 43(2) of the Regulations, the fee payable is the applicable fee set out in items 3 to 5 , unless the results of the original inspection are not confirmed by the appeal inspection, in which case no fee is payable  
7. For the grading of produce at a processing establishment $17 per quarter hour, the grading time being rounded off to the nearest quarter hour, subject to a minimum fee of $68
8. For the monitoring of produce quality, packaging or labelling $68 per hour or 60¢ per 100 kg of monitored produce, whichever the applicant chooses (amended : Canada Gazette, Part I, May 22, 2010)
registration of establishments

9.

For the registration of an establishment, or the renewal of an existing registration, under Part X of the Regulations $825 per year
compliance assistance

10.

For services provided by an inspector, upon request from a person, for the purpose of helping that person to meet the requirements of the Act or the Regulations $17 per quarter hour, the time being rounded to the nearest quarter hour, subject to a minimum fee of $68
agricultural product dealer's licence

11.

For a licence issued under section 3 of the Licensing and Arbitration Regulations $1,075
dumping certificate

12.

Repealed (amended : Canada Gazette, Part I, February 19, 2011) 60¢ per 100 kg of produce dumped, subject to a minimum fee of $50 (amended : Canada Gazette, Part I, May 22, 2010)

Next page: Honey Fees | Previous page: Fertilizer Fees

Date modified: